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NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER
COUNTY OF WAKE OF INSURANCE

IN THE MATTER OF THE VOLUNTARY SETTLEMENT

LICENSURE OF AGREEMENT

JAMIE L. WHITCOMB
LICENSE NO. 0018615489

NOW COME, Jamie L. Whitcomb (hereinafter "Ms. Whitcomb”) and the North Carolina
Department of Insurance (hereinafter “Department”), and hereby voluntarily and knowingly
enter into the following Voluntary Settlement Agreement (hereinafter “this Agreement”):

WHEREAS, the Department has the authority and responsibility for the enforcement of
the insurance laws of this State, and for regulating and licensing bail bondsmen; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb holds an active license as a surety bail bondsman issued by
the Department; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-80(a)(4) provides that the Commissioner may
deny, place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any license for misappropriation,
conversion or unlawful withholding of moneys belonging to insurers or others received in the
conduct of business under the license; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-80(a)(5) provides that the Commissioner may
deny, place on probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any license, among other things,
for demonstrating incompetence, untrustworthiness, or financial irresponsibility in the conduct of
business in this State; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-95(5) provides that no bail bondsman or runner
shall accept anything of value from a principal or from anyone on behalf of a principal except the
premium, which shall not exceed fifteen percent (15%) of the face amount of the bond;

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-95(5) further provides that collateral security or
other indemnity required by the bondsman to be reasonable in relation to the amount of the bond
and shall be returned within 72 hours after final termination of liability on the bond; and



WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-100 provides that when a bail bondsman accepts
collateral he or she shall give a written notice for the collateral, and a receipt for which is given a
detailed full description of the collateral involved, and such collateral security shall be held and
maintained in trust; and if the collateral security is received in the form of cash, check or other
negotiable instrument, the licensee shall deposit the cash or instrument within two banking days
after receipt in an established, separate non-interest bearing trust account in any bank located in
North Carolina; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb wrote two bonds on Mr. Rashad Booe, which were posted
on May 18, 2018 in the District Court of Iredell County, NC (Case File Nos. 17CR 703848 and
18CR 701767) for which she received $8,000.00 of collateral from Ms. Rashida Parks; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb followed the direction of her supervisor, Justin S.
Singletary, and placed the money in a file cabinet in Mr. Singletary’s office, rather than deposit
the money in a non-interest bearing account located in North Carolina and issue a separate
receipt for the collateral as required by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-100; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb was contacted by Ms. Parks on numerous occasions after
final disposition of the case against Mr. Booe for return of the collateral as required by N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 58-71-95(5); and

WHEREAS, the collateral security amount of $8,000.00 was returned to Ms. Parks on
November 1, 2018 only after this Department contacted you by email on October 23, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb’s violations of N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 58-71-80(a)(4) and (a)(5),
58-71-95(5) and 58-71-100 demonstrate a failure to comply with and/or a violation of the
provisions of Article 71 of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes for which Ms.
Whitcomb’s surety bondsman license could be revoked, suspended or not renewed pursuant to
N.C. Gen Stat. § 58-71-80(a)(7); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-80(a)(7), the Commissioner may deny,
suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any license under Article 71 of Chapter 58 of the North
Carolina General Statutes for failure to comply with or violation of the provisions of Article 71
of Chapter 58 of the North Carolina General Statutes or of any order, rule or regulation of the
Commissioner; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Whitcomb admits to the violations set out herein; and

WHEREAS, in lieu of an administrative hearing on the matters stated herein, Ms.
Whitcomb has agreed to settle, compromise, and resolve the matters referenced in this
Agreement, and the Department has agreed not to pursue additional penalties, sanctions,
remedies, or restitution based on these matters against Ms. Whitcomb; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-2-70(g), the Commissioner of Insurance
and the Department have the express authority to negotiate a mutually acceptable agreement with
any person as to the status of the person’s license or certificate or as to any civil penalty or
restitution; and

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the promises and agreements set out herein,
the Department and Ms. Whitcomb hereby agree to the following:

1, Immediately upon her signing of this document, Ms. Whitcomb shall pay a civil
penalty of $1,000.00 to the Department. The form of payment shall be in a
certified check, cashier’s check or money order. The check or money order for
the payment of this civil penalty shall be payable to the “North Carolina
Department of Insurance.” Ms. Whitcomb shall send the civil penalty by certified
mail, return receipt requested, to the Department simultaneously with the return of
this Agreement, signed by Ms. Whitcomb. The civil penalty and the signed
Agreement must be received by the Department no later than April 7, 2019. The
civil penalty shall be subject to disbursement in accordance with the provisions of
Article IX, Section 7 of the North Carolina Constitution for the benefit of the
public schools.

2. As a condition of continuing to be licensed as a surety bail bondsman, Ms.
Whitcomb will be required to comply with the provisions of N.C. Gen. Statute §
58-71-71(a) and retake and complete at least 12 hours of education as provided by
an approved provider in subjects pertinent to the duties and responsibilities of a
bail bondsman including all laws and regulations related to being a bail
bondsman, within six months from the date of the signing and acceptance of this
Agreement by the Department, and submit documented verification of such
completion to the Department. Such pre-licensing education will be in lieu of and
satisfy the requirements of N.C. Gen. Statute § 58-71-71(b).

3. Ms. Whitcomb shall obey all laws and regulations applicable to all licenses issued
to her.
4. Ms. Whitcomb enters into this Agreement freely and voluntarily and with

knowledge of her right to have an administrative hearing on this matter. Ms.
Whitcomb understands that she may consult with an attorney prior to entering into
this Agreement.

5. This Agreement does not in any way affect the Department’s disciplinary power



in any future follow-up examinations of Ms. Whitcomb, or in any other cases or
complaints involving Ms. Whitcomb.

6. The parties to this Agreement agree that this Agreement shall have the full force
and effect of an Order of the Commissioner. Ms. Whitcomb understands that N.
C. Gen. Stat. § 58-71-80(a)(7) provides that a surety bondsman’s license may be
revoked for violating an Order of the Commissioner.

P This Voluntary Settlement Agreement, when finalized, will be a public record and
is not confidential. All licenses issued by the Department to the licensee shall
reflect that Regulatory Action has been taken against the licensee following the
execution of this Agreement. The Department is free to disclose the contents of
this Agreement to third parties upon request or pursuant to any law or policy
providing for such disclosure. The Department routinely provides copies of
voluntary settlement agreements to all companies that have appointed the
licensee.

8. This Settlement Agreement shall become effective when signed by Ms.
Whitcomb and the Department.

N.C. DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

ByyJamie L. itcom By. Marty Sumner
v/ License No. 0018615489 Deputy Commissioner
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