North Carolina Department of Insurance Mike Causey, Commissioner Financial Analysis Section 1203 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1203

## **Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Instructions**

Every Accredited Reinsurer that is registered in North Carolina pursuant to North Carolina General Statute ("N.C.G.S.") 58-7-21(b)(2) must annually submit a completed "Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Application" and a \$750.00 renewal fee by March 1st.

The "Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Application" and renewal fee may be submitted either by mail or by using the electronic payment option, as outlined below. A hardcopy of the "Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Application" is not required to be filed if an Accredited Reinsurer uses the electronic payment option, as all application information will be collected during the electronic payment process.

## **Not Utilizing Electronic Payment Option**

If an Accredited Reinsurer is not using the electronic payment option, proceed as follows:

- 1. Complete and print the "Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Application."
- 2. Enclose a check payable to the "North Carolina Department of Insurance" for payment of the \$750.00 renewal fee. Checks must include the following information on the check stub:
  - (1) NAIC Company Code.
  - (2) Company Name, if different than the payor on the check.

If a check is payment for more than one Accredited Reinsurer's fees, the check stub must include the above information for EACH Accredited Reinsurer.

3. Mail the completed "Accredited Reinsurer Renewal Application" with enclosed check via US Postal Service to:

North Carolina Department of Insurance Financial Analysis Section 1203 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1203

or by carrier other than the US Postal Service to:

North Carolina Department of Insurance Financial Analysis Section 3200 Beechleaf Court Raleigh, NC 27604

## **Utilizing Electronic Payment Option**

The electronic payment option is not available for Alien Accredited Reinsurers.

If an Accredited Reinsurer is using the electronic payment option, proceed as follows:

- 1. Go to https://ww2.ncdoi.com/renewals/coselect?co\_type=AR.
- 2. Enter the five-digit NAIC Company Code.
- 3. Review the demographic and contact information on file for accuracy and make any necessary changes.
- 4. Click "Proceed to Payment" to pay the \$750 fee via e-check. (If needed for accounts payable purposes, the Company Number for the North Carolina Department of Insurance is 9044036175.)

1 of 2 08/2024

### **Additional Annual Filing Requirements**

Accredited Reinsurers must file the following additional information:

# Due March 1

- 1. The Annual Statement for the most recent year ended December 31, in the form required under N.C.G.S. 58-2-165. If the Annual Statement is filed electronically with the NAIC, no hardcopy is required to be filed.
- 2. Actuarial certification of loss and loss adjustment expense reserves for the most recent year ended December 31, in the form required by the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions. If the actuarial certification is filed electronically with the NAIC, no hardcopy is required to be filed.

#### Due June 1

1. The Audited Financial Statement for the most recent year ended December 31. If the Audited Financial Statement is filed electronically with the NAIC, no hardcopy is required to be filed.

Questions concerning the filing requirements should be directed to <a href="mailto:financialanalysissubmissions@ncdoi.gov">financialanalysissubmissions@ncdoi.gov</a>.

2 of 2 08/2024