

AGENT SERVICES

Resident Insurance Producer Fingerprint Submission Instructions

The following are the fingerprint submission requirements for North Carolina resident applicants for an insurance producer license pursuant to North Carolina G.S. 58-33-48.

These requirements are effective 10/1/2010 for all resident applicants for an initial insurance producer license in North Carolina. As set forth in North Carolina Administrative Code 11 NCAC 6A.0418, insurance producers licensed prior to 10/1/2010 do not have to submit fingerprints when applying for additional lines of authority/licenses unless there have been certain lapses in authority.

☐ Applicants for an initial insurance producer license must electronically submit their fingerprints for a state and federal criminal history background check following the instructions listed below.

Please follow these steps:

- Print out the Insurance Producer Fingerprint Submission Packet (3 pages).
- 2. The applicant required to submit fingerprints must fully complete pages 1 and 3. Page 2 must be signed and completed by a local law enforcement agency when the fingerprints are electronically submitted.
- 3. Fingerprints must be submitted electronically for a criminal record history check by bringing the SBI Electronic Fingerprint Submission Release of Information form to a law enforcement agency authorized to submit fingerprints electronically to the State Bureau of Investigations (SBI) via live scan. If you are not aware of a local agency that submits live scan fingerprints, please refer to the NC county locations posted on the NCDOI website under applications and forms for insurance licensing. This form MUST be brought to the live scan location to be completed otherwise they will not be able to electronically submit the fingerprints. At the discretion of the live scan location, there may be a fee charged for providing this fingerprinting service. After the fingerprints are electronically scanned and the SBI Electronic Fingerprint Submission Release of Information form is certified by a law enforcement official at the live scan location, this form MUST be submitted within 30 days of submission of the public adjuster application.

REQUIRED SUBMISSIONS TO NC LICENSING OFFICE OF PEARSON VUE

Submit the required SBI forms to the NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE via the following methods:

FAX: 888-959-3010

EMAIL (scan and attach to email): northcarolinalicensingoffice@pearson.com

MAIL: NCDOI/Pearson VUE

PO Box 14209 Raleigh, NC 27620

A \$38.00 criminal record history check fee must be paid for each insurance producer applicant required to submit fingerprints. This fee should be paid during the NIPR electronic insurance producer application process.

An insurance producer application will not be considered complete until ALL of the above fingerprint requirements are submitted to the NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE.

Please contact the NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE at (866) 265-6329 if you have any questions.